Travel

I travel a lot. I go out of the country about once a month.

I don’t usually take pads with me (other than for the flight) when I go to Europe or England. There are convenient medical supply stores in London and Paris with high-quality disposables. Elsewhere in Europe, I order disposables online for delivery to my hotel, which will hold them for my arrival. Other places, I bring my usual pads.

I bring a cotton-spandex pant, a plastic pant, gallon Ziplocs, a plastic pad and a couple of Snappis. The plastic pant is to trap small leaks. The plastic pad, with a hotel towel on top, is a mattress protector. The Ziplocs are to seal up wet pads, so housekeeping doesn’t have to handle them.

The Snappis are a last-ditch backstop. They are a clever little substitute for safety pins. I can use them with a hotel towel if I run out of disposables. Fortunately, that has only happened a couple of times.

I never check bags. I can pack for a week (or even a month) in one carry-on. (Hotel laundry is my friend, albeit an expensive one.) The carryon has room for a half-dozen disposables in addition to my clothes.  I generally assume I’m going to be dry some nights, so I don’t take a pad for every night.

In addition to my carry-on, I use a big canvas bag that holds my computer bag, my handbag, my plane reading and, at the bottom, my pads for the flight.

I’m immune to embarrassment in front of strangers. If I’m traveling alone or with J, I don’t mind airport security (or people in the security line) seeing my things. But I’d rather not have other people who know me — my business associates or my kids — seeing evidence of my private medical issues.

Generally, that’s not a big deal at airports in developed countries. If security does a dump-bag check, they will do it behind a screen or in private if you ask.

The difficult airports are those that do dump-bag checks of everything on a public table. (One more reason to hate Bombay/Mumbai airport.)

I usually sleep on planes, so I wear a pad while flying. One of the advantages of a pad is that it is easy to put on or change in an airplane toilet, a transit lounge or even an airport public toilet. I just take the canvas bag, with the pads, with me to the toilet. Oddly enough, I’ve never wet on a plane.

PS: If you travel a lot, get a Trusted Traveller card. It’s the greatest.

9 thoughts on “Travel

  1. I travel about once a month as well as I am doing microbiology research. How would you suggest I dispose of protection when I have to share a hotel room? I mean it would be pretty obvious it was me since I am sharing the bathroom with a small number of people. Thank you

    • Try putting it in a ziploc bag (to contain the smell and so housekeeping doesn’t need to handle it directly), then put that in a paper bag to hide it. Then in the trash.

  2. I discovered your blog today and read it from start to finish. You are a very good writer. My complements!

    I do too travel relative often and I’m a bed wetter too. I recognise a lot in your advice and it took me a while to get as well organised as you do. First I was full of shame and now I’m becoming very pragmatic. When flying overseas I wear protection for the same reason as you do and had up till now no accidents either. Why? I don’t know. Maybe the dry air in the plane? I do not stop wearing protection in the plane as I can’t afford any accidents. I appreciate your advice of the snappis as I run twice out of protection myself. I was overwhelmed by panic. Thanks again for sharing all your good advice and experiences!

  3. Hi Cat,
    When I pack my suitcase for my business trips I hate putting a pack of diapers in its original packing in my suitcase. I’m always afraid that I have to open my suitcase while being together with colleagues of others and forget that they are plain visible. Question for you, do you pack your pads in a’neutral’ bag, or do you leave them as they are? How do you handle that? Thanks for your feedback. Bob

    • I take them out of the pack and put them loose in the bottom of the suitcase. I can’t see any situation in which others would see them. If airport security wants to go through your bag, you can ask that they do it in private. The only place I’ve had a problem is India, where they just dump the contents of a carryon bag on the table.

  4. Pingback: PUL | Bedwetting Mom

    • I’ve never had a problem with urine smell at home or away, even with four bedwetters.

      1. Change as soon as you wake up (even if it’s the middle of the night).

      2. Put a wet disposable in a gallon Ziploc bag as soon as you take it off.

      A disposable has odor neutralizing chemicals, so it shouldn’t start to smell until you take it off. Also, urine only to smells when it is exposed to air, so it is important to change as soon as possible and to put the disposable directly into the Ziploc.

      I assume that you’re using a disposable.

      I’ve only had to resort to the towel diaper a few times. I get the urine rinsed out as soon as possible. I put the wet towel into the shower, rinse it well, wring it out and put it in the laundry bag.

Leave a Reply

