College: Advice

Bedwetting didn’t inhibit me from going to college. It shouldn’t inhibit anyone.

I lived in a dorm, with roommates and a shared bathroom, all four years. None of my roommates knew that I wet the bed.

Some advice:

Occasional accidents

I wet the bed only occasionally during my first two years of college.

I wore briefs as a precaution for the first semester of freshman year. I didn’t wet in that time. I had only wet a couple of times in the preceding year, so I decided to stop wearing protection. I did have a plastic cover on the mattress, and kept a disposable underpad (chux)  under the sheet in the strategic spot.

I only had a couple of accidents in my first two years. I got up immediately, put on a terry robe to cover my wet nightgown, stripped the bed, dumped sheets and nightgown in the washer, got a quick shower, put on fresh sheets and nightgown and went back to bed. Fortunately, my roommate never woke up, the chux caught everything before it got to the mattress pad and I was able to get the wet things out of the room before they started to smell.

If I were to do it over as an occasional bedwetter, I would probably wear a washable lined pant, which would have been easier to deal with than a wet sheet and nightgown.

Regular bedwetting

I wet almost nightly my last two years of college.

In the evening, I went in a shower stall, closed the door, put on a disposable brief, pulled a stretch panty over it to compress it and keep it quiet and put a big, baggy Lanz nightgown over it all.

In the morning, I went to the shower stall, took off the brief, put it in a Ziploc bag and took a shower. The Ziploc is a great invention; it seals in all the odor. I could dispose of the Ziploc’d brief at my leisure.

I had a big bag to carry everything back and forth to the shower. (See below.)

Check in with the student health service

SHS was a godsend.

When I started wetting again in college, my main concern was that disposables would be as inadequate as they had been when I was a teenager. It was one thing to wear a cloth diaper at home, where I could include them in the daily laundry of a large family. But daily laundry (or a diaper pail) would not have been practical in a dorm.

The SHS nurse studied the medical supply catalogs, and found Molicare briefs. They handled my worst bedwetting. She had the briefs for delivered to SHS. I picked them up a few at a time as needed, rather than having cases delivered and stored in my dorm.

Protect yourself from your bed

Put a plastic cover on the mattress. Even if you don’t wet the bed, it’s a good idea. College mattresses are vile.

Dark flannel sheets don’t show wetness (much) or stains. A drop of bathroom freshener will hide the smell of a small leak (if you can stand the smell of bathroom freshener).

Get a bathroom bag

Get a big canvas bag to carry stuff back and forth to the bathroom. If you have your towel, washcloth and toilet/makeup kit on top, nobody is going to look any deeper. Stacked from the bottom:

  • gallon Ziploc bags
  • barrier cream (Desitin)
  • disposables
  • wipes
  • nightgown or pajamas and stretch pants
  • towel
  • washcloth
  • toilet and makeup kits

Wear a robe or baggy pajamas and a stretch short

When I went to college, we girls all wore baggy flannel Lanz nighties. There’s no way to tell you’re wearing protection. Not sexy, but who are you trying to entice in a dorm bathroom?

A stretch short compresses a brief (or pad or washable pant), so that it makes less noise and is less noticeable.

A robe covers the wet spots on a nightgown or pajamas for the dash to the bathroom.

Put wet things in a Ziploc

Gallon Ziplocs are one of the great inventions of the 20th century. They lock in all the odor and make  a handy package for disposal.

Enjoy college

Really. There’s absolutely no reason why wetting the bed should inhibit anyone from doing anything, especially going to and enjoying college.

Be confident.

Date

Really. I had a date pretty much every Friday and Saturday night. More here.

Say something on the freshman questionnaire?

I didn’t say anything about bedwetting on the freshman questionnaire. The SHS nurse told me that if I had, I could have been had a single room or shared a room with another self-identified bedwetter. I didn’t want that. I liked having roommates and didn’t want to restrict my pool of potential roommates.

3 thoughts on “College: Advice

  1. Hi I am a 19 year old college student. I have autism, depression, and PTSD. I started wetting the bed after I got put on Prasocin for PTSD flashbacks, it has gotten rid of the flashbacks but I now have a bedwetting problem. I also wet the bed until I was 13 but out grew it and started up again when I was 17 shortly after I developed PTSD. I am not as fortunate as you with my university’s shs, they dont carry briefs and the doctors embarrass me and have no sensitivity when discussing it. I have a single room because of disabilty services for my autism. I am a microbiology major and got off of academic probation recently, I am not dumb, I was severely depressed last semester. How did you keep a postive attitude. I am seeing a counselor btw. My depression isnt related to my wetting

  2. Now as I read more into your blog I can tell you are a much more extroverted person than I am, and maybe less prone to depression in a biological sense. I’m not saying our personality is purely biologically determined but it definitely plays a role. I actually have trisomy x which means I have three x chromosomes instead of 2 which has led to developmental disorders such as autism and dyslexia. It can be a blessing though, most successful scientists are on the autism spectrum because autistics tend to be more passionate since they have very focused interests. [edited by bedwettingmom]

  3. Pingback: Bedwetting in college | Diary of a Bedwetting Woman

Leave a Reply

