Ugh

Jake wet the bed. A real soaking. He wasn’t wearing a pullup.

It doesn’t bother me that he wet the bed. It doesn’t bother me that he wasn’t wearing a pullup. We decided last summer that his accidents were infrequent enough that he didn’t need to wear one at home.

What bothers me is that he didn’t do anything about it. He didn’t strip his sheets and put them (and his pjs) in the wash this morning. He just pulled his covers up to hide the wet spot. He even stuffed his wet pjs under the covers so I wouldn’t see them.

And – assuming that he wet the bed in the middle of the night – why sleep the rest of the night in a body-length puddle? Why not get me up for dry sheets and pjs? My goodness, Jakie, you have more sense than that!

I’m not sure what he was thinking when he hid it. Was he planning to get back into wet pjs and a wet bed tonight? (Ewww!) Did he think I wouldn’t know? (Did he think it doesn’t smell?)

I understand that he was embarrassed. I understand that he doesn’t want his sisters to know.

But he’s smart enough to know that I will know. He knows that I won’t be mad or think less of him. And he knows that he is responsible for his wet things.

We’re going to have some tough talk when he gets home from school.

One thought on “Ugh

  1. Pingback: Ugh 2 | Bedwetting Mom

Leave a Reply

