Frequency

I’ve always had a few dry nights a month, sometimes two or three in a row.

Lately, I’ve had dry weeks. Last month, I had two dry stretches of over a week each.

When I was in high school, I had a similar pattern. After a few years of chronic wetting, I wet only a few times a year. I thought that I was finally done with it. But it came back. The cause was (and is) still there. There’s no current or likely treatment for it. Even if I stop wetting for a while, it will probably come back.

Still, it’s nice to wake up dry.

The kids are outgrowing their bedwetting. Except for a few isolated accidents, Emily has been dry for months. She’s taken pullups to camp again, but that and sleepovers have been the only times she’s worn them in a long time. Jake hasn’t had an accident or worn a pullup, even to a sleepover, in over a year. Megan is getting some dry nights. Maybe by this time next year, I’ll be the only bedwetter in the family.

5 thoughts on “Frequency

  1. Thank you for having this blog. It gives the needed perspective that is needed for parents and gives reassurance.

  2. I meant to write more. I have a student going to college this year and am hoping that you can help with my questions. I noticed that you went to an ivy league college. How did you manage this condition when you went? Did you tell anyone at college-housing, administrator, nurse or students? Did you have a roommate? It would be so helpful to know how this was all handled and would dramatically help the stress level in our home. Thank you so much!

    • Relax! There’s no reason to be stressed at all.

      I wet almost every night for two of my college years. I had roommates, none of whom suspected I wet the bed. I had an active social life, with lots of dates and a few serious boyfriends (including the guy that I married).

      You can see all my posts on college by clicking on “Ages: college” on the sidebar.

      I collected my advice for the college-bound into a post. The gist is:

        1. Talk to a nurse at student health services as soon as you can. They can be a godsend. I ordered disposables through them, and they stored them for me. You’re not alone. They have seen it before.

        2. Put a cover on the mattress. You should do that even if you don’t wet the bed.

        3. It’s easy to keep the secret with baggy nightgowns, a big bathroom bag and gallon ziplocs.

        4. Enjoy college. Date. Have fun. It’s the best time of your life.

      I’m agnostic about saying anything on the housing questionnaire. The Student Health nurse said that the housing office tried to room bedwetters together or find a single room for a bedwetter. I liked having roommates and I didn’t want to live in a bedwetter ghetto. I thought I could be discreet enough, and I was right.

    • One other thing: Don’t worry about roommates.

      College is not high school. Your roommates are going to be as mature and intelligent as you are. Even if they do find out, they are almost certain to be sympathetic and helpful. Nobody is going to care in the least.

      That was certainly my experience with the boyfriends that I told.

      If your roommate isn’t mature, sympathetic and helpful, get a new roommate. Student housing will be aggressively happy to arrange it. And, again, college is not high school. You don’t have to associate with jerks, and most people won’t associate with jerks. You will find plenty of fellow students who will be terrific. Anyone who was infantile enough to give you trouble about wetting the bed would almost certainly be universally shunned.

  3. Pingback: Cloth | Bedwetting Mom

Leave a Reply

